• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...
Villa Paloma

Villa Paloma (31)

Sunday, 18 March 2012 19:55

3 exhibitions + 1 Film

Written by


Selection of works shown

 


Exhibition views

 



The knowledge, study, conservation, diffusion and enrichment of the cultural heritage are a National Museum's fundamental missions. The question of the cultural heritage becomes all the more crucial because it is one of the pillars of the notion of sustainable development, theme chosen for the 2011 edition of the Journée du Patrimoine in Monaco.


The collections of a Museum grow not only thanks to acquisitions but also to gifts, loans and deposits of generous patrons. Villa Paloma's Fall Programme therefore shows how cultural heritage is formed through three exhibitions and a film.

The patrons' action can also be reflected in the support given to projects destined to the public, such as the new space on the ground floor of Villa Paloma – "La Table des Matières" – imagined by designer Jonathan Olivares as a multi-purpose and progressive place, stimulating curiosity and reflection. This exhibition offers a general view of this space which will be inaugurated in January 2012.

The first and second floors welcome the collection of the earliest vintage prints of the Principality of Monaco put together by Christian Burle, recently acquired by the Prince's Palace and put at the NMNM's disposal for this show by H.S.H. The Sovereign Prince to be shown to the public for the first time.

The second floor's videoroom presents Javier Téllez's film Letter on the blind, For the use of those who see, 2007 which entered the NMNM's collection thanks to the government's support and – until 2009 – to a budget specifically dedicated to acquisitions.

The third floor, dedicated to H.R.H. The Princess of Hanover with portraits by great contemporary artists – Karl Lagerfeld, Helmut Newton, Francesco Vezzoli, Andy Warhol and Robert Wilson – tells Her privileged relationship with artistic creation and emphasizes Her generosity since most of these works have been given to the NMNM.



 

Sunday, 18 March 2012 19:49

Thomas Demand - La Carte d'après Nature

Written by


Exhibition views




Publication coedited by the NMNM and MACK Books





AN ARTIST'S SELECTION BY THOMAS DEMAND
The Nouveau Musée National de Monaco entrusts German artist Thomas Demand with a role of guest curator for the opening exhibition of Villa Paloma.


"Monaco! Surrealism! Nature? There's not much nature to be seen, even though the whole country of Monaco sits on a rough rock riddled by caves that were inhabited by homini grimaldi even before anyone painted animals on the walls in Lascaux. There are traffic islands, well-tended hydrocultures, and small parks, but there is nothing here that could cater to my inborn Teutonic yearning for the wild. However, there is a lifestyle that would have appealed to the Surrealists (and, in fact, did): fabulous botanical gardens, which provided the basis for the image for the show's invitation card, and, next to the Villa Paloma, an almost vacant anthropological museum that gave us the showcase for Chris Garofalo's porcelain models. So, I thought to myself, if there is any talk of nature here, it has to be of domesticated nature - that is, potted plants, gardens, theme parks and models of wild growth. Transformations, every kind of presentation, interpretation and, finally, symbolic representation." Extract from Thomas Demand's text in the publication of the exhibition.

The concept of the exhibition refers to Magritte's short-lived magazine, La Carte d'après Nature. From 1952 on, and for only fourteen issues, he encompasses poetry,illustrations, short stories and other contributions, and sends them out as postcards.In a similar way, the artist Thomas Demand has selected artworks for the exhibitionwhich are interconnected in a poetic, associative and elegant manner from artistswho all have their lines of thinking about Nature and her representations.Two ideas dictated the combination of the works by the selected artists: forms of atamed nature and the abrupt dialect of Surrealism fashioned by Magritte, which subsequentlybecame a source of inspiration. Just as Magritte himself always relatedworks to virulent ideas of diverse origins, works of a wider generational span havebeen included in Demand's selection which includes amongst others Kudjoe Affutu,Saâdane Afif, Becky Beasley, Martin Boyce, Tacita Dean, Thomas Demand, ChrisGarofalo, Luigi Ghirri, Rodney Graham, Henrik Håkansson, Anne Holtrop,August Kotzsch, René Magritte, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Jan and Joël Martel and Ger VanElk.

This exhibition is organized with the support of the René Magritte Foundation - Brussels.

* La carte d'après Nature, based on an original concept by René Magritte (1952) ©Charly Herscovici - Bruxelles.

Sunday, 18 March 2012 18:55

LE SILENCE Une fiction

Written by


Exhibition Views 





The Nouveau Musée National de Monaco presents its latest exhibition, LE SILENCE Une fiction which will be held at Villa Paloma, NMNM. The work of 25 artists will invite the visitor, via a fictional approach, to reconsider the trace that our civilisation will leave behind. The curator, Simone Menegoi, states that this exhibition offers a "fantastic account, a form of narrative décor which tells the story of a planet that has become uninhabitable for reasons unknown..."

From 2nd February until 3rd April 2012, LE SILENCE Une fiction will gather a corpus of contemporary works, ranging from Arman's Accumulations to Hiroshi Sugimoto's photographs, which present the visitor with a world that is both strange and familiar. The effect is one of a reversal of history; as if the works displayed, artefacts of our contemporary era, were being observed through the eyes of an archaeologist or anthropologist from the future.



Part scientific experiment, part fictional narrative, the exhibition invites the visitor to use his imagination and depict a story. A substantial part of the exhibition consists of photographs and videos set against each other within the traditional landscape genre, yet seen from a particular perspective: the aesthetics of the contemporary Sublime, drawing on the spectacle of environmental disasters and economic collapse. Another prominent group of works is comprised of sculptures and assemblages from artists, active since the 1960's, who use every day and waste material to create. Work by American artist Michael E. Smith, whose sculptures are made from waste collected in his home town, the urban desert of Detroit, completes the exhibition as 'fossils' of our consumer society.

With this exhibition, the NMNM continues its tradition of supporting exploratory missions, a project heartily endorsed by the Principality. The Nouveau Musée National de Monaco thereby supported Adrien Missika's expedition across the Karakum desert to Darvaza, in Turkmenistan. A work entitled Darvaza, created especially for this exhibition, is projected into the narrative journey. In the same vein, the museum also enabled the curators Simone Menegoi and Cristiano Raimondi, along with art critic Chris Sharp, to explore the American town of Detroit. During this trip they met the artist Michael E. Smith and found inspiration for this exhibition.

LE SILENCE Une fiction at the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco is curated by Simone Menegoi and co-curated by Cristiano Raimondi (NMNM). A short story by Chris Sharp, accompanies the fictional drive of the exhibition.

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication of around 250 pages from the NMNM, edited by Mack Books and distributed worldwide. This bilingual publication includes critical texts (one of them written by Marc Augé) and Chris Sharp's novella.

During the opening of the exhibition, Italian artist Linda Fregni Nagler gave a performance : Things that Death Cannot Destroy(Part 5 – The Silence), 2012
 

List of Artists

Dove Allouche
Vladimir Arkhipov
Arman
Bartolomeo Bimbi
Maurice Blaussyld
Michel Blazy
Karl Blossfeldt
Brassaï
Peter Buggenhout
Carlos Casas
Romeo Castellucci
Lourdes Castro
Tony Cragg
Daniel Gustav Cramer
Geert Goiris
Jochen Lempert
Yves Marchand & Romain Meffre
Adrien Missika
Linda Fregni Nagler
Walter Pichler
Rudolf Polanszky
Pierre Savatier
Erin Shirreff
Michael E. Smith
Daniel Spoerri
Hiroshi Sugimoto


Curators' biographies

Born in 1970, Simone Menegoi is an art critic and museum curator. He writes for Kaleidoscope magazine and artforum.com. He has been an independent curator since 2005. In 2008, he was curator at the artistic centre La Galérie (Noisy-Le-Sec, Paris). Notable recent and forthcoming projects include Scavi at the Cultural Centre, Français de Milan in 2010, and Bouvard and Pécuchet's Compendious Quest for Beauty at the David Roberts Art Foundation in London, which he will co-curate with Chris Sharp in April 2012.

Born in 1978, Cristiano Raimondi is the Head of Development at the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco. Since the opening of Villa Paloma in 2010, he has co-curated the exhibitions La Carte d'après Nature with Thomas Demand and Oceanomania with Mark Dion. He is also responsible for the creation of the Friends of the NMNM Association grant which enables artists and curators to carry out "exploration" expeditions, such as the one conducted for the exhibition LE SILENCE Une fiction.

 




Page 3 of 3
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Villa Paloma

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • Publications
Villa Paloma

Villa Paloma (31)

dimanche, 18 mars 2012 19:55

3 expositions + 1 film

Écrit par


Sélection d'oeuvres exposées

 


Vues d'exposition

 



La connaissance, l’étude, la conservation et la diffusion et l’enrichissement du patrimoine sont les missions fondamentales d’un Musée National. La question du patrimoine devient d’autant plus cruciale qu’elle est l’un des piliers de la notion de développement durable, thématique de la journée du patrimoine 2011 à Monaco.


Les collections d’un Musée s’agrandissent bien sûr grâce à des acquisitions mais aussi grâce aux dons, prêts et dépôts de généreux mécènes. La programmation d’Automne de la Villa Paloma montre ainsi comment un patrimoine se forme, au travers de trois expositions et d’un film.

L’action des mécènes se traduit aussi par le soutien à des projets d’aménagement destinés aux publics, tel le nouvel espace du rez-de-chaussée de la Villa Paloma – « La Table des Matières » – imaginé par le designer Jonathan Olivares (compas d'or 2011) , comme un lieu polyvalent et évolutif, éveillant la curiosité et la réflexion. Cette exposition offre un aperçu de cet espace qui sera inauguré en janvier 2012.

Les 1er et 2ème étages accueillent la collection des plus anciennes photographies de la Principauté de Monaco, réunie par Christian Burle et récemment acquise par le Palais Princier puis mise à disposition du NMNM pour cette exposition par S.A.S. le Prince Souverain pour être montrée au public pour la première fois.

La videoroom du 2ème étage présente le film de Javier Téllez, Letter on the blind, For the use of those who see, 2007 entré dans les collections du NMNM grâce à l’appui du gouvernement princier et – jusqu’en 2009 – d’un budget spécialement dédié aux acquisitions.

Le 3ème étage, consacré à S.A.R. la Princesse de Hanovre, avec des portraits réalisés par de grands artistes contemporains – Karl Lagerfeld, Helmut Newton, Francesco Vezzoli, Andy Warhol et Robert Wilson – raconte Sa relation privilégiée avec la création artistique et souligne Sa générosité puisque ces oeuvres ont pour la plupart été données au NMNM.



 

dimanche, 18 mars 2012 19:49

Thomas Demand - La Carte d'après Nature

Écrit par

Vues d'exposition




Publication co-éditée par le NMNM et MACK Books





Une sélection d'artistes par Thomas Demand
Pour l’exposition inaugurale de la Villa Paloma le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco confie à l'artiste allemand Thomas Demand le rôle de “guest curator”.



“Monaco ! Le surréalisme ! La nature ? Il n’y a pas beaucoup de nature à voir, même sile pays entier repose sur un sévère rocher troué de grottes qui furent habitées par l’Homme de Grimaldi, avant même que des animaux aient été peints sur les murs à Lascaux. Il y a là des terre-pleins centraux, hydrocultures bien entretenues, des petits parcs. Mais rien ici ne pourrait sustenter mon appétit teuton pour la nature sauvage.Cependant, il y a un mode de vie qui aurait pu plaire aux Surréalistes (et ce fut en effetle cas), de fantastiques jardins botaniques, qui ont servi de base au carton d’invitation et, près de la Villa Paloma, un musée anthropologique presque vide qui nous fournit une vitrine pour les modèles en porcelaine de Chris Garofalo. Alors, me suis-je dit, si l’on parle ici de nature, cela doit être de la nature domestiquée, comme les plantes en pots, les jardins, les parcs à thème et les reconstitutions de la nature sauvage Transformations ,tous genres de présentation, d’interprétation et, finalement, de représentation symbolique”. Extrait du texte rédigé par Thomas Demand dans la publication de l’exposition.

Le concept de l'exposition se réfère au magazine à la courte vie de René Magritte, "la Carte d'après Nature". À partir de 1952, et le temps de 14 numéros, il combine poésie, illustrations, nouvelles et autres contributions puis envoie ces publications sous forme de simples cartes postales. Sur un mode similaire, l'artiste Thomas Demand a sélectionné pour l'exposition des travaux d’artistes ayant tous mené une réflexion sur la Nature et ses représentations, liés les uns aux autres de manière poétique, associative et élégante. Deux idées guident la combinaison des travaux des artistes présentés : les formes d'une nature apprivoisée et le dialecte abrupt du surréalisme forgé par Magritte qui depuis reste une source d'inspiration. Tout comme Magritte liait ses œuvres à des idées virulentes de toutes origines, des artistes appartenant à plusieurs générations différentes sont inclus dans la sélection très variée faite par Demand, qui comprend entre autres Kudjoe Affutu, Saâdane Afif, Becky Beasley, Martin Boyce, Tacita Dean, Thomas Demand, Chris Garofalo, Luigi Ghirri, Rodney Graham, Henrik Håkansson, Anne Holtrop, August Kotzsch, René Magritte, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Jan et Joël Martel et Ger van Elk.

Cette exposition est organisée avec le soutien de la Fondation René Magritte-Bruxelles.

* La carte d’après Nature, d’après un concept original de René Magritte (1952) ©Charly Herscovici - Bruxelles.

dimanche, 18 mars 2012 18:55

LE SILENCE Une fiction

Écrit par


Vues d'exposition 





Le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco (NMNM) présente à la Villa Paloma LE SILENCE Une fiction, une exposition qui propose à travers le filtre de la fiction et le travail de 25 artistes internationaux une relecture des vestiges et des signes de notre temps. Comme précise le commissaire, Simone Menegoi cette exposition propose « un récit fantastique, une forme de décor narratif qui relate l’histoire d’une planète devenue inhabitable pour des raisons obscures...».

Du 2 février au 3 avril 2012, LE SILENCE Une fiction rassemblera un corpus d’œuvres contemporaines qui, des Accumulations d’Arman aux photographies de Hiroshi Sugimoto, brossent le portrait d’un monde familier et pourtant étranger. L’histoire se trouve ici renversée, comme si les œuvres, fragments d’une ère contemporaine, étaient observées à travers les yeux d’un archéologue ou d’un anthropologue provenant d’une ère future.



Entre essai scientifique, et récit fictionnel, l’exposition invite le visiteur à recomposer une histoire à la force de l’imagination. Le parcours se compose de photographies et de vidéo d’artistes qui se confrontent au genre traditionnel du paysage, mis en perspective dans une esthétique du Sublime. Puis d’œuvres qui font état de désastres humains et économiques, réels, survenus au cours des quarante dernières années. Enfin, une section en appelle aux sculpteurs qui, depuis les années soixante, ont travaillé avec des restes d'objets et de matériaux quotidiens, à l’instar des sculptures du jeune américain Michael E. Smith, faites de déchets ramassés dans le désert urbain de sa ville d'origine, Détroit. Ces fossiles de la civilisation de consommation puisent également dans des désastres réels ou les cités industrielles à l’abandon.

Avec cette exposition, le NMNM renoue avec la tradition de soutien aux missions d’exploration, chère à la Principauté. Le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco a ainsi soutenu l’expédition d’Adrien Missika dans le désert de Karakoum à Darvaza au Turkménistan. Une œuvre – Darvaza - produite pour cette exposition, est projetée dans le parcours de cette narration. Toujours dans cette même perspective, le Musée a également permis aux commissaires Simone Menegoi, et Cristiano Raimondi accompagnés de Chris Sharp, de partir explorer la ville de Détroit aux Etats-Unis, où ils ont notamment rencontré l’artiste Michael E. Smith, et où ils ont approfondi le thème de cette exposition.

L’exposition LE SILENCE Une fiction au Nouveau Musée National de Monaco est placée sous le commissariat de Simone Menegoi et le co-commissariat de Cristiano Raimondi (NMNM). Elle est complétée par une nouvelle rédigée par Chris Sharp, remarquable pendant fictionnel de l’exposition.

L’exposition est accompagnée d’une publication du NMNM éditée chez MACK Books, d’environ 250 pages, qui sera distribuée à l’international. Cet ouvrage, bilingue, inclue des visuels, des textes critiques (dont un rédigé par Marc Augé) ainsi que la nouvelle écrite par Chris Sharp.

A l’occasion du vernissage de l’exposition, l’artiste italienne Linda Fregni Nagler réalisera une performance : Things that Death Cannot Destroy(Part 5 – The Silence), 2012


Liste des artistes

Dove Allouche
Vladimir Arkhipov
Arman
Bartolomeo Bimbi
Maurice Blaussyld
Michel Blazy
Karl Blossfeldt
Brassaï
Peter Buggenhout
Carlos Casas
Romeo Castellucci
Lourdes Castro
Tony Cragg
Daniel Gustav Cramer
Geert Goiris
Jochen Lempert
Yves Marchand & Romain Meffre
Adrien Missika
Linda Fregni Nagler
Walter Pichler
Rudolf Polanszky
Pierre Savatier
Erin Shirreff
Michael E. Smith
Daniel Spoerri
Hiroshi Sugimoto


Biographies des commissaire et co-commissaire

Né en 1970, Simone Menegoi est critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition. Il contribue au magazine Kaleidoscope et artforum.com. Depuis 2005, il est curateur indépendant. En 2008, il était curateur au centre d’art La Galerie (Noisy-Le-Sec, Paris). Parmi ses expositions récentes et à venir, on peut noter Scavi au Centre culturel Français de Milan en 2010 et Bouvard and Pécuchet's Compendious Quest for Beauty à la David Roberts Art Foundation à Londres, co-commissionnée avec Chris Sharp, en avril 2012.

Né en 1978, Cristiano Raimondi est Responsable du Développement du Nouveau Musée National de Monaco. Depuis l’ouverture de la Villa Paloma, il a été commissaire associé des expositions La Carte d’après Nature avec Thomas Demand puis d’Oceanomania avec Mark Dion. Il est également à l’origine de la création d’une bourse offerte par l’Association des Amis du NMNM à un artiste et/ou des commissaires attribuée à des missions d’ « exploration », comme pour l’exposition LE SILENCE, Une fiction.

 




Page 3 sur 3
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Villa Paloma