• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

The Nouveau Musée National de Monaco's collection

reservesThe Nouveau Musée National de Monaco’s collection gathers more than 10 000 works mainly created between the 19th and 20th century. This pluralist and diverse collection can be presented from various thematic angles: performing arts, representations of the human body, or landscape and the relation to nature. An important part of this collection originates from the Villa Sainte Cécile’s Musée des Beaux-arts which displayed – between 1935 and 1958 – sculptures, ceramics, vues d’optique, paintings, drawings and etchings related to the Principality of Monaco and its surroundings, such as François-Joseph and Jean-François Bosio’s (Monegasque sculptor and engraver) neo-classical works.

The collection developed at the end of the 1960’s with addition of over 500 dolls and mechanical automatons from the 19th century, bequeathed by Madeleine de Galéa’s grandson to Prince Rainier III and exhibited at Villa Sauber between 1972 and 2008. Simultaneously, the collection was enriched  with works linked to Monaco and its region, with artists such as Claude Monet, Kees Van Dongen and works by Léon Bakst, Natalia Gontcharova, Michel Larionov, Pavel Tchelitchev, Alexandre Benois, Naum Gabo, André Derain, Jean Cocteau, Christian Bérard and Serge Lifarlinked to the Ballets Russes de Monte-Carlo. Since 2002, the museum has been conserving 4000 costumes et 400 stage set models from the Opéra de Monte-Carlo and deposited by the Société des Bains de Mer. Monumental works have also joined the museum’s collections, such as those of Guy Lartigue, Alexander Calder or Victor Vasarely, sculptures by Jean Dubuffet, Anish Kapoor, Claire Fontaine and Michel Blazy as well as many other works presented in the gardens of the Principality. 

Since 2010, with Villa Paloma’s opening, the collection has taken a new direction by orienting its acquisition policy towards modern and contemporary artworks. It includes works by international artists such as Lucio Fontana, Ettore Spalletti, Brassaï,  Christian Boltanski, Bruno Munari, Alberto Magnelli, Valerio Adami, Luigi Ghirri, Andy Warhol,  but also Mark Dion, Nick Mauss, Yinka Shonibare, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Jeppe Hein, Francesco Vezzoli,   Wolfgang Tillmans, Rebecca Horn, Joan Jonas, Shimabuku, Steve Mc Queen, João Maria Gusmão et Pedro Paiva, Latifa Echakhch, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Robert Barry, Thomas Ruff and Thomas Struth, Yto Barrada, Hans Schabus, Saâdane Afif, Brice Dellsperger and Jochen Lempert. 

Open to the major issues of our time, these works also resonate with older collections. responding to the objective of turning the museum into a place dedicated to Monaco’s artistic heritage. the collection reveals both the Monegasque territory’s particularities and its openness to the world.





 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Collections

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • Publications

La collection du Nouveau Musée National de Monaco

reservesLa collection du Nouveau Musée National de Monaco est constituée de plus de 10 000 œuvres, essentiellement réalisées entre les XIXe et XXIe siècles. Cette collection, plurielle et diverse, peut-être présentée sous différents angles thématiques : les arts du spectacle, les représentations du corps humain, ou encore le paysage et la relation à la nature. Un important fonds provient du musée des Beaux-arts de la Villa Sainte Cécile qui présentait de 1935 à 1958 des sculptures, céramiques, vues d'optiques, tableaux, dessins et estampes relatifs à la Principauté de Monaco et à ses environs, à l’instar des œuvres néo-classiques de François-Joseph et Jean-François Bosio (sculpteur et graveur monégasques).

La collection s’est développée à la fin des années 1960 avec le don de plus de 500 poupées et automates mécaniques du XIXe siècle, légués par le petit-fils de Madeleine de Galéa au Prince Rainier III et exposées à la Villa Sauber entre 1972 et 2008. Parallèlement, la collection s’est enrichie d’œuvres liées à Monaco et à sa région, avec des artistes tels que Claude Monet, Kees Van Dongen et des œuvres de Léon Bakst, Natalia Gontcharova, Michel Larionov, Pavel Tchelitchev, Alexandre Benois, Naum Gabo, André Derain, Jean Cocteau, Christian Bérard et Serge Lifar liées aux Ballets Russes de Monte-Carlo. Depuis 2002, le musée conserve 4 000 costumes et 400 maquettes de décors provenant de l'Opéra de Monte-Carlo et déposés par la Société des Bains de Mer. Sont également entrées dans les collections du musée les œuvres monumentales de Guy Lartigue, Alexander Calder ou Victor Vasarely, les sculptures de Jean Dubuffet, Anish Kapoor, Claire Fontaine ou encore Michel Blazy, ainsi que de nombreuses autres présentées dans les jardins de la Principauté.

Enfin, depuis 2010, avec l’ouverture de la Villa Paloma, la collection prend un tournant en orientant sa politique d’acquisitions sur des œuvres d’art moderne et contemporain. Elle comporte des œuvres d'artistes internationaux tels que Lucio Fontana, Ettore Spalletti, Brassaï, Christian Boltanski, Bruno Munari, Alberto Magnelli, Valerio Adami, Luigi Ghirri, Andy Warhol, mais aussi Mark Dion, Nick Mauss, Yinka Shonibare, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Jeppe Hein, Francesco Vezzoli, Wolfgang Tillmans, Rebecca Horn, Joan Jonas, Shimabuku, Steve Mc Queen, João Maria Gusmão et Pedro Paiva, Latifa Echakhch, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Robert Barry, Thomas Ruff et Thomas Struth, Yto Barrada, Hans Schabus, Saâdane Afif, Brice Dellsperger ou Jochen Lempert.

Ouvertes sur les grandes problématiques de notre époque, ces œuvres entrent aussi en résonance avec les collections plus anciennes. Répondant à l’objectif de faire du musée un lieu dédié au patrimoine artistique de Monaco, la collection révèle à la fois les spécificités du territoire monégasque et son ouverture sur le monde.
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Collections