NMNM

  • Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...
Monday, 23 September 2019 11:11

Une collection peut en cacher une autre - restitution of Oriol Vilanova's residency in the school environment

Oriol Vilanova, Share your life with an image (detail), 2019 courtesy de l’artiste Oriol Vilanova, Share your life with an image (detail), 2019 courtesy de l’artiste

Restitution of the artist in residence workshop in the school environment conducted in partnership with the Direction de l'Education Nationale, de la Jeunesse et des Sports and with the support of the Princely Government.

In 2019, the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco initiated an artist’s residency in the two middle schools of the Principality, Collège Charles III and private Institution François d’Assise-Nicolas Barré. Oriol Vilanova intervened in two 8th grade Fine Art option classes from January to June. The students were invited to reflect upon the signification of collecting and how this notion could be applied to an artist’s practice. Each encounter was an opportunity to sensitize the students to the notions of inventory, conservation and the art market linked to the practice of an amateur collector or professional. The outcome of this experiment are two artworks, Share your life with an image (2019) and Une collection peut en cacher une autre (2019).

Share your life with an Image (2019) is a set of old postcards from the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco which the artist suggested the students carry in their jackets, schoolbags or notebooks for several months, speeding up the deterioration process of the image and its paper form and occasionally leading to its total destruction.

Une collection peut en cacher une autre (2019) is a reading of Stefan Zweig’s short story The invisible collection, An Episode of the German Inflation of 1925 (1935) employing multiple voices in which the discourse was communicated from one student to another, as a collection of voices, tonalities and rhythms creating an allegory to the figure of the art collector. This sound piece will also be presented on Sunday September 29 at the Théâtre Princesse Grace during National Heritage Day.

Oriol Villanova’s residency in Monaco also enabled the artist to meet with other collectors. I❤POSTCARDS (2019), presented on the facade of the Villa Sauber was produced for the 40th anniversary of the Postcard Collectors Association in Monaco. The performance Borrowed Words (2017-ongoing) was interpreted twice, once in English by Frabizio Moretti in April and once in Italian by Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaundengo in September.

Old Masters (2019-ongoing) is an invitation to handle the images contained in a work overall. The jacket, which the artist wears whilst hunting for his postcard collection in flea markets, contains Matisse postcards. It is a proposition to consult the reproductions of a major artist, prompting an additional opportunity to question our relationship to the works and the reproductive process. This work is systematically presented responding to one or several works kept in the collections of the museums it is in. Here, it relates to Costume pour un Mandarin (1920), designed by Henri Matisse for the ballet Le Chant du Rossignol which premiered at the Théâtre National de l’Opéra de Paris on February 2, 1920

In his work Oriol Vilanova (born 1980, works and lives in Brussels), interrogates the paradoxes inherent in mass culture, an obsession that has driven him to collect a number of postcards which he seeks out in flea markets. His interest is also centered on the “Becoming Monument” of certain celebrities, icons and ideas, which the 20th century, although behind us, seem as much monstrous as they are comical. His conceptual approach takes its shape in written form based on repetition and exaggeration, minimal installation or performance. However, his work assumes a literary and fictive dimension, appropriating themes of immortality and the relatedness between time, memory and history or heroism.

The students, from the Collège Charles III and the private Institution François d’Assise-Nicolas Barré, having participated in this project are: Clément Chalat, Antoine Maouche, Manon Matilde, Elia Parfenoff, Thomas Rawung, Nicolas Schoepff, Rania Tabarani, Mattéo Tallarico, Theo Balsamo, Fanny Blanchard, Erwan Campana, Lilou Charriere, Manon Choisit, Alexandre Constans, Shaylee Dana, Corentin Doumergue, Audrey Gsegner, Ethan Harroch, Edouard Jouhri, Ambroise Leroy, Jorys Margossian, Aurore Pronzato, Noham Saidi.
The students were presided by their teachers Agathe Poniatowski Vigliani and Patricia Derycke.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil

NMNM

  • Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • Publications
lundi, 23 septembre 2019 11:11

Une collection peut en cacher une autre - restitution de la résidence d'Oriol Vilanova en milieu scolaire

Oriol Vilanova, Share your life with an image (detail), 2019 courtesy de l’artiste Oriol Vilanova, Share your life with an image (detail), 2019 courtesy de l’artiste

Restitution de la résidence d'artiste en milieu scolaire menée en partenariat avec la Direction de l’Education Nationale, de la Jeunesse et des Sports et avec le soutien du Gouvernement Princier.


En 2019, le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco a initié une résidence d’artiste dans les deux collèges de la Principauté, Charles III et l’Institution privée François d’Assise-Nicolas Barré. Oriol Vilanova est intervenu entre janvier et juin dans deux classes de 4ème en option Arts Plastiques. Les élèves ont été invités à réfléchir sur ce que collectionner signifie et comment cela peut s’articuler dans une pratique artistique. Chaque rencontre a également été l’occasion de les sensibiliser aux notions d’inventaire, de conservation, de marché, liées à la pratique de la collection amateur ou professionnelle. De cette expérience sont issues les œuvres Share your life with an image (2019) et Une collection peut en cacher une autre (2019).

Share your life with an image (2019) est un ensemble d’anciennes cartes postales de la collection d’automates du NMNM, que l’artiste a proposé aux élèves de transporter dans leurs vestes, cartables ou cahiers pendant plusieurs mois, accélérant le processus d’usure de l’image et de son support parfois jusqu’à sa disparition totale.

Une collection peut en cacher une autre (2019) est une lecture à voix multiples de la nouvelle de Stefan Zweig La collection invisible, un épisode de l’inflation en Allemagne (1935) dans laquelle le discours passe d’un élève à l’autre, comme une collection de voix, de tonalités, de rythmes. Une allégorie de la figure du collectionneur. Une collection peut en cacher une autre sera également présentée le dimanche 29 septembre au Théâtre Princesse Grace à l’occasion des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine.

La résidence d’Oriol Vilanova à Monaco aura également permis la rencontre de l’artiste avec d’autres collectionneurs. I❤POSTCARDS (2019), est présente sur la façade de la Villa Sauber et a été produite à l’occasion des 40 ans de l’association des cartophiles de Monaco. La performance Borrowed Words (2017-Ongoing), une déclaration d’amour d’un collectionneur à sa collection, aura été interprétée en anglais par Fabrizio Moretti le 27 d’avril dernier puis en italien par Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo le 19 septembre.

Old Masters (2019-Ongoing), est une invitation à la manipulation d’images contenues dans un bleu de travail. La veste que porte l’artiste lorsqu’il chine contient ici sa collection de cartes postales d’Henri Matisse (1869-1954) et propose aux visiteurs de consulter les reproductions d’œuvres d’un artiste majeur, une occasion supplémentaire de questionner notre rapport aux œuvres et à leurs reproductions. L’œuvre est systématiquement exposée en écho avec une ou plusieurs œuvres présentes dans les collections des Musées où elle se trouve. Ici, il s’agit de Costume pour un des mandarins (1920) réalisé par Henri Matisse pour le ballet Le Chant du Rossignol dont la première a eu lieu au Théatre National de l’Opéra de Paris le 2 février 1920.

La pratique artistique d'Oriol Vilanova (né en 1980, vit et travaille à Bruxelles) interroge les paradoxes inhérents à la culture de masse, une obsession qui l'a poussé à collectionner les nombreuses cartes postales qu'il chine dans les marchés aux puces. Il s'intéresse également au « devenir monument » de certains personnages, icônes et idées qui, le XXe siècle désormais derrière nous, paraissent aussi monstrueux que comiques. Son approche conceptuelle prend la forme d'écrits basés sur la répétition et l'exagération, d'installations minimales ou de performances.Il revêt néanmoins toujours une dimension littéraire et romanesque, s'emparant de thèmes tels que l'immortalité, les relations entre temps, mémoire histoire ou héroïsme.

Les élèves du Collège Charles III et de l’Institution privée François d’Assise-Nicolas Barré ayant participé au projet sont: Clément Chalat, Antoine Maouche, Manon Matilde, Elia Parfenoff, Thomas Rawung, Nicolas Schoepff, Rania Tabarani, Mattéo Tallarico, Theo Balsamo, Fanny Blanchard, Erwan Campana, Lilou Charriere, Manon Choisit, Alexandre Constans, Shaylee Dana, Corentin Doumergue, Audrey Gsegner, Ethan Harroch, Edouard Jouhri, Ambroise Leroy, Jorys Margossian, Aurore Pronzato, Noham Saidi. Ils ont été encadrés par leurs enseignantes Agathe Poniatowski Vigliani et Patricia Derycke.




 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil