• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Oliver Laric - La Nymphe Salmacis - Villa Paloma, La Table des Matières
  • 20.04-23.09.2018

Oliver Laric La Nymphe Salmacis 2018 Polyamide, TuskXC2700T, acrylic paint, UV coating, aluminium Commission from the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco, inv. 2018.14.1  - Photo NMNM/Andrea Rossetti, 2018 Oliver Laric La Nymphe Salmacis 2018 Polyamide, TuskXC2700T, acrylic paint, UV coating, aluminium Commission from the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco, inv. 2018.14.1 - Photo NMNM/Andrea Rossetti, 2018

NMNM - Villa Paloma
La Table des Matières

To mark the 250th anniversary of the birth of François-Joseph Bosio, the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco commissioned Oliver Laric to create a work after La Nymphe Salmacis, of which it holds a version in marble and a bronze cast.


 


In 2012 Laric began a disruptive project called threedscans.com, an internet site that allows users to download his 3D scans of works from the museum’s collections and, in consequence, to make unlimited reproductions of them. 

The direct corollary of this approach is that the sculptures that he makes using 3D printers and composite materials like polyurethane and polyamide are “original replicas” that challenge the notions of authorship and authenticity, and that of appropriation. With regard to his work La Nymphe Salmacis, it seems that Bosio, the original sculptor, took inspiration from the La Nymphe à la coquille (1683, Louvre) by Antoine Coysevox, which was itself made from a cast of the ancient original in the Borghese Collection in Rome. 

In strong contrast with the marble original, Laric has used a mix of 21st-century materials, exploiting qualities of synthetic transparency and opacity, and playing on the fact that citation, collage and remixing have been processes used for several centuries in the circulation of forms and images that are intrinsic to creation. 

Oliver Laric was born in 1981 in Innsbruck, Austria. He lives and works in Berlin.

 





 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Villa Paloma Oliver Laric - La Nymphe Salmacis - Villa Paloma, La Table des Matières

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • Publications

Oliver Laric - La Nymphe Salmacis - Villa Paloma, La Table des Matières

Oliver Laric La Nymphe Salmacis 2018 - Polyamide, TuskXC2700T, peinture acrylique, pellicule UV, aluminium - 100 x 58 x 93.2 cm - Commande du Nouveau Musée National de Monaco, n° inv. 2018.14.1 - Photo NMNM/Andrea Rossetti, 2018 Oliver Laric La Nymphe Salmacis 2018 - Polyamide, TuskXC2700T, peinture acrylique, pellicule UV, aluminium - 100 x 58 x 93.2 cm - Commande du Nouveau Musée National de Monaco, n° inv. 2018.14.1 - Photo NMNM/Andrea Rossetti, 2018

NMNM - Villa Paloma
La Table des Matières


A l’occasion du 250ème anniversaire de la naissance de François-Joseph Bosio, le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco a commandé à Oliver Laric une œuvre d’après La Nymphe Salmacis, dont le musée conserve une version en marbre et une édition en bronze.




En 2012, Laric amorce un projet disruptif intitulé threedscans.com, un site internet offrant le libre téléchargement de ses scans 3D d’œuvres issues de collections muséales et de fait, leur reproductibilité infinie.

Découlant directement de cette démarche, les sculptures qu’il réalise à partir d’imprimantes 3D et de matériaux composites tels que le polyuréthane ou le polyamide, sont des « répliques originales » qui questionnent tout autant les notions d’auteur et d’authenticité que celle de l’appropriation. Pour La Nymphe Salmacis, il semble que Bosio se soit inspiré de la Nymphe à la coquille d’Antoine Coysevox (1683, musée du Louvre), elle-même exécutée d’après un moulage de l’antique appartenant à la collection Borghèse à Rome.

Dans un contraste fort avec le marbre original, Laric compose ici un assemblage de différents matériaux du XXIème siècle, jouant de transparences et d’opacités synthétiques et rappelant que la citation, le collage ou encore le remix sont, depuis déjà quelques siècles, des processus de circulation des formes et des images inhérents à la création.

Oliver Laric est né en 1981 à Innsbruck en Autriche et vit et travaille à Berlin.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Villa Paloma Oliver Laric - La Nymphe Salmacis - Villa Paloma, La Table des Matières