• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Saâdane Afif - The Fountain Archives 2008-2017 - Villa Sauber
  • 02 juin - 15 octobre 2017

Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives FA. 0503; 2015 – Torn out page from Cros, Caroline, Duchamp, Paris: Editions du Centre Pompidou, 2014, p. 21 25 x 25.5 cm (framed) – Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin, mfc-michèle didier, Paris and Xavier Hufkens, Brussels //Droite : Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives (Spines: FA.0001 - 0040), 2015 - Courtesy of the artist, photo credit: Katharina Kritzler Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives FA. 0503; 2015 – Torn out page from Cros, Caroline, Duchamp, Paris: Editions du Centre Pompidou, 2014, p. 21 25 x 25.5 cm (framed) – Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin, mfc-michèle didier, Paris and Xavier Hufkens, Brussels //Droite : Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives (Spines: FA.0001 - 0040), 2015 - Courtesy of the artist, photo credit: Katharina Kritzler

June 2 - October 15, 2017

An exhibition jointly produced with le Centre Georges Pompidou

NMNM - Villa Sauber
17 avenue Princesse Grace


To mark the centenary of Fountain, 1917, the NMNM is presenting The Fountain Archives 2008-2017, an exhibition by Saâdane Afif, jointly produced with the Centre Georges Pompidou.





Fountain, 1917

In New York, in April 1917, Marcel Duchamp submitted to the exhibition of the Society of Independent Artists, which he was a member of, a work titled Fountain, consisting of a urinal laid on its back and signed R. Mutt, 1917. Using the pseudonym Richard Mutt, Duchamp was thus testing the limits of the fundamental principle of the Independents: refuse no work. But after the rejection in 1912 of Nu descendant un escalier at the Salon des Indépendants in Paris, Fountain was in its turn refused by the young New York committee, which was supposedly open to any proposal. Without an exhibition for the second time, Duchamp decided to orchestrate the presentation of Fountain through an article published in the magazine "The Blindman" which he had co-founded. It was thus based on a reproduction (a photograph taken by Stieglitz) accompanied by an anonymous commentary (“The Richard Mutt Case”), that Fountain entered art history. That publication occurred at precisely the same time that the original work disappeared, never to be found again.

Since that first event in 1917, Duchamp’s Fountain has given rise to an endless flow of comments. From virulent criticism to unconditional homage, and from the history of ceramics to mathematical language, the diverse range of the subjects illustrated by Fountain is disconcerting and infinite.

The Fountain Archives 2008-2017

Since 2008, Saâdane Afif has been collecting books and magazines reproducing Fountain, referencing them in an archive being presented here for the first time in the form of an installation bringing together framed works, sculptures and songs’lyrics, written for the occasion by different personalities. By appropriating the methodologies of the patrimonial inventory, and playing with traditional museographic codes, Afif questions the status of the work, its reproducibility, and the endless field of its interpretations, as well as its amazing propensity to produce narrative.

The Fountain Archives consist of three elements :

- The first element, which we may describe as “active”, is made up of pages torn out of different publications featuring a reproduction of the work Fountain, 1917, by Marcel Duchamp. In accordance with the procedure established by Saâdane Afif, each one of these pages is torn out by the artist to be individually framed, then referenced under an archival number of the FA.0001 type. The NMNM is showing 36 Fountain Archives acquired in 2015, specially brought together around a copy of the Boîte-en-valise, devised by Duchamp as an album reproducing the whole of his oeuvre in a transportable form. The famous Fountain is represented here in miniature.

- The second element, which we may describe as “passive”, is made up of four galvanized steel bookshelves coming from Saâdane Afif’s studio. These shelves bring together the 899 publications (ranging from travel guides to the most scholarly of art historical works) from which the pages reproducing Fountain have been torn out. By removing one page from a publication printed in an edition of several hundred, Saâdane Afif re-creates something singular. Once torn out, the page becomes unique, just like the amputated publication which, on its shelf, becomes a silent archive (a mould), without the object that gave rise to it. The presentation of the bookshelves in museographic display cases also lends them a sculptural character, by depriving the books of their usual function.

- A third element enhances the first two:
Over the years, the research and archival work undertaken by Saâdane Afif, nothing less than a ‘work in progress’, has given rise to comments and publications themselves likely to be included in his project, as soon as a photograph of Fountain appeared. By creating an archive within an archive, Saâdane Afif has systematically indexed each article devoted to this project, under the title Fountain Archives (Augmented). In this way the project has engendered its own material and the work nurtures itself by giving rise to a commentary. Seventy-nine pages in the Augmented series are brought together on a wall facing the bookshelves, and the object of their text.

The project known as The Fountain Archives is still being developed. The archive will stop at the 1001st publication, which it will incorporate. It is being presented in its entirety on the website www.thefountainarchive.net.

On the occasion of the exhibition, the NMNM and b.frank book publish Fountain, 1917 an artist book directed by Saâdane Afif, with an introduction text by artist Tacita Dean.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Villa Sauber Saâdane Afif - The Fountain Archives 2008-2017 - Villa Sauber

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Saâdane Afif - The Fountain Archives 2008-2017 - Villa Sauber
  • 02 juin - 15 octobre 2017

Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives FA. 0503; 2015 – Torn out page from Cros, Caroline, Duchamp, Paris: Editions du Centre Pompidou, 2014, p. 21 25 x 25.5 cm (framed) – Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin, mfc-michèle didier, Paris and Xavier Hufkens, Brussels //Droite : Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives (Spines: FA.0001 - 0040), 2015 - Courtesy of the artist, photo credit: Katharina Kritzler Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives FA. 0503; 2015 – Torn out page from Cros, Caroline, Duchamp, Paris: Editions du Centre Pompidou, 2014, p. 21 25 x 25.5 cm (framed) – Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin, mfc-michèle didier, Paris and Xavier Hufkens, Brussels //Droite : Saâdane Afif, The Fountain Archives (Spines: FA.0001 - 0040), 2015 - Courtesy of the artist, photo credit: Katharina Kritzler

Du 2 juin au 15 octobre 2017

Une exposition coproduite avec le Centre Pompidou

NMNM - Villa Sauber
17 avenue Princesse Grace


A l’occasion du centenaire de l’œuvre Fountain de Marcel Duchamp, le NMNM présente The Fountain Archives 2008-2017, une exposition de Saâdane Afif coproduite avec le Centre Pompidou.

Fountain, 1917

En avril 1917 à New York, Marcel Duchamp soumet au comité d’accrochage de la Society of Independant Artists, dont il fait partie, une œuvre intitulée Fountain consistant en un urinoir présenté renversé et signé R. Mutt, 1917. Sous le pseudonyme de Richard Mutt, Duchamp teste ainsi les limites du principe fondateur des Indépendants : ne refuser aucune œuvre. Or, après le rejet en 1912 du Nu descendant un escalier au Salon des Indépendants de Paris, Fountain est à son tour refusée par le jeune comité new-yorkais, supposément ouvert à toute proposition. Privé d’exposition pour la seconde fois, Duchamp décide d’orchestrer la présentation de Fountain à travers une publication, dans la revue "The Blindman" qu’il a cofondée. C’est donc à partir d’une reproduction (une photographie de Stieglitz) accompagnée d’un commentaire anonyme ("The Richard Mutt Case"), que Fountain entre dans l’histoire de l’art. Cette publication est exactement contemporaine de la disparition de l’œuvre originale, qui ne sera jamais retrouvée.

Depuis cette première occurrence en 1917, la Fontaine de Duchamp a généré un flot incessant de commentaires. De la critique virulente à l’hommage inconditionnel, de l'histoire de la céramique au langage mathématique, la diversité des sujets illustrés par Fountain est déconcertante et infinie.

The Fountain Archives 2008 – 2017

Depuis 2008, Saâdane Afif collecte les livres et magazines reproduisant Fountain, et les référence au sein d’une archive présentée ici pour la première fois sous la forme d’une vaste installation réunissant oeuvres encadrées, sculptures et textes de chansons rédigés pour l’occasion par différents artistes. En s’appropriant les méthodologies de l’inventaire patrimonial, et jouant avec les codes muséographiques traditionnels, Afif interroge le statut de l’œuvre, sa reproductibilité et le champ infini de ses interprétations, ainsi que sa formidable propension à produire du récit.

The Fountain Archives comprend trois ensembles, présentés dans quatre salles de la Villa Sauber :

- Le premier ensemble, que l’on peut qualifier d’"actif", est constitué́ des pages arrachées à diverses publications sur lesquelles figure une reproduction de l’œuvre Fountain, 1917, de Marcel Duchamp. Selon le protocole établi par Saâdane Afif, chacune de ces pages est arrachée par l’artiste pour être encadrée individuellement, puis référencée sous un numéro d’inventaire de type FA.0001. Le NMNM présente trente-six Fountain Archives acquises en 2015, réunies exceptionnellement autour d’un exemplaire de la Boîte-en-valise, conçue par Duchamp comme un album reproduisant l’ensemble de son œuvre sous une forme transportable. La célèbre Fontaine y est ici représentée en miniature.

- Le second ensemble, que l’on peut qualifier de "passif", est constitué de quatre bibliothèques en acier galvanisé provenant de l’atelier de Saâdane Afif. Ces bibliothèques réunissent les huit-cent-quatre-ving-dix-neuf publications (cela peut aller du guide de voyage jusqu’aux ouvrages les plus savants d’histoire de l’art) desquelles les pages reproduisant Fontaine ont été arrachées. En soustrayant une page d’une publication tirée à plusieurs centaines d’exemplaires, Saâdane Afif recrée du singulier : une fois arrachée, la page devient unique, tout comme la publication amputée qui, sur son étagère, se fige en une archive muette (un moule) privée de l’objet qui l’a motivée. La présentation des bibliothèques sous des vitrines muséographiques, en privant les ouvrages de leur fonction usuelle, leur confère en outre un caractère sculptural.

- Un troisième ensemble est venu enrichir les deux premiers : au fil des années, le travail de recherche et d’archivage entrepris par Saâdane Afif, véritable work in progress, a suscité des commentaires et des publications qui étaient elles-mêmes susceptibles d’intégrer son projet, dès lors qu’apparaissait une photographie de Fountain. Créant une archive dans l’archive, Saâdane Afif a systématiquement répertorié chaque article consacré à ce travail, sous le terme de Fountain Archives (Augmented). Le projet a de la sorte engendré son propre matériau et l’œuvre s’auto-alimente en suscitant le commentaire. Soixante-dix-neuf pages de la série Augmented sont réunies sur un mur faisant face aux bibliothèques et à l’objet de leur texte.

Le projet The Fountain Archives continue de se développer. L’archive s’arrêtera à la mille et unième publication qu’elle intègrera. Elle est présentée dans son intégralité sur le site www.thefountainarchives.net

A l’occasion de l’exposition , le NMNM et b.frank books publient Fountain, 1917, un livre d’artiste dirigé par Saâdane Afif avec une introduction de Tacita Dean.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Villa Sauber Saâdane Afif - The Fountain Archives 2008-2017 - Villa Sauber